General Administration
Allahabad division which consists of four districts, and is headed by the Divisional Commissioner of Allahabad, who is an IAS officer of high seniority, the Commissioner is the head of local government institutions (including Municipal Corporations) in the division, is in charge of infrastructure development in his division, and is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the division. The District Magistrate of Allahabad reports to the Divisional Commissioner. The current Commissioner is Ashish Kumar Goel.

Allahabad district administration is headed by the District Magistrate of Allahabad, who is an IAS officer. The DM are in charge of property records and revenue collection for the central government and oversee the elections held in the city. The DM is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the city, hence the SSP of Allahabad also reports to the DM of Allahabad. The DM is assisted by a Chief Development Officer (CDO), five Additional District Magistrates (ADM) (Finance/Revenue, City, Rural Area, Land Acquisition, Civil Supply), one Chief Revenue Officer (CRO) one City Magistrate (CM), and three Additional City Magistrates (ACM). The district has eight teshils viz. Sadar, Soraon, Phulpur, Handia, Karchhana, Bara, Meja and Kuraon, each headed by a Sub Divisional magistrate.

Police Administration
Allahabad district comes under the Allahabad Police Zone and Allahabad Police Range, Allahabad Zone is headed by an Additional Director General ranked IPS officer, and the Allahabad Range is headed Inspector General ranked IPS officer. The current ADG, Allahabad Zone is Satya Narain Sabat, and IG, Allahabad Range is Ramit Sharma.

The district police is headed by a Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), who is an IPS officer, and is assisted by eight Superintendents of Police (SP)/Additional Superintendents of Police (Addl. SP) (City, Ganga Par, Yamuna Par, Crime, Traffic, Modern Control Room, Protocol and Security), who are either IPS officers or PPS officers.[98] Each of the several police circles is headed by a Circle Officer (CO) in the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police.

Infrastructure and Civic Administration
The development of infrastructure in the city is overseen by Allahabad Development Authority (ADA), which comes under the Housing Department of Uttar Pradesh government. The Divisional Commissioner of Allahabad acts as the ex-officio Chairman of ADA, whereas a Vice Chairman, a government-appointed IAS officer, looks after the daily matters of the authority.[99] The current Vice Chairman of ADA is Bhanu Chandra Goswami.

The Allahabad Nagar Nigam (ANN), also called Allahabad Municipal Corporation (AMC), oversees the city’s civic infrastructure under the Allahabad Metropolitan Region. The corporation originated in 1864, when the Lucknow Municipal Act was passed by the Government of India. Allahabad is divided into 80 wards, with one member (or corporator) elected from each ward to form the Municipal Committee. The head of the corporation is the Mayor, but the executive and administration of the corporation are the responsibility of the Municipal Commissioner, who is a Uttar Pradesh government-appointed Provincial Civil Service (PCS) officer of high seniority.

Allahabad is the seat of Allahabad High Court, the highest judicial body in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The city is known as the “Prime Minister Capital of India”, since seven of fifteen Prime Ministers of India are from the city. Allahabad is administered by several government agencies. As the seat of the Government of Uttar Pradesh, Allahabad is home to local governing agencies and the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly (located in the Allahabad High Court building). The Allahabad district elects two representatives to India’s lower house, the Lok Sabha, and 12 representatives to the state legislative assembly. Allahabad is also the headquarters of Central Zonal Council and of the Commissioner for Linguistic Minorities.