The Allahabad High Court or the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad is a high court based in Allahabad that has jurisdiction over the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It was established in 1869, making it one of the first high courts to be established in India.

Allahabad became the seat of Government of North-Western Provinces and a High Court was established in 1834 but was shifted to Agra within a year. In 1868 it shifted back to Allahabad. The former High Court was located at the Accountant General’s office at the University of Allahabad complex.

It was founded as the High Court of Judicature for the North-Western Provinces at Agra on 17 March 1866 by the Indian High Courts Act 1861 replacing the old Sadr Diwani Adalat. Sir Walter Morgan, Barrister-at-Law and Mr. Simpson were appointed the first Chief Justice and the first Registrar respectively of the High Court of North-Western Provinces.

The location High Court for the North-Western Provinces was shifted from Agra to Allahabad in 1869 and the name was correspondingly changed to the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad from 11 March 1919.

On 2 November 1925, the Oudh Judicial Commissioner’s Court was replaced by the Oudh Chief Court at Lucknow by the Oudh Civil Courts Act of 1925, enacted by the United Provinces Legislature with the previous sanction of the Governor General the passing of this Act.

On 25 February 1948, the Chief Court of Oudh was amalgamated with the High Court of Allahabad.

When the state of Uttaranchal, now known as Uttarakhand, was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in 2000, this high court ceased to have jurisdiction over the districts falling in Uttaranchal. Allahabad High court was built by Khan saheb Nizamuddin of Loha Mundi, Agra, India. He also donated the water fountain to the High court.

Principal Seat and Benches
The seat of the court is at Allahabad. Allahabad High Court maintains a permanent circuit bench at Lucknow, the administrative capital of the state. The maximum number of serving judges is 160, the highest in India.

Chief Justice
Justice Dilip Babasaheb Bhosale is the Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court.

List of Chief Justices

Walter Morgan 1866–1871 | Robert Stuart 1871–1884 | William Comer Petheram 1884–1886 | John Edge 1886–1898 | Louis Addin Kershaw 1898 | Arthur Strachey 1898–1901 | John Stanley 1901–1911 | Henry Richards 1911–1919 | Edward Grimwood Mears 1919–1932 | Shah Muhammad Sulaiman 1932–1937 | John Gibb Thom 1937–1941 | Iqbal Ahmad 1941–1946 | Kamala Kanta Verma 1946–1947 | Bidhu Bhushan Malik 1947–1955 | O.H. Mootham 1955–1961 | Manulal Chunilal Desai 1961–1966 | Vashishtha Bhargava 1966–1966 | Nasirullah Beg 1966–1967 | Vidyadhar Govind Oak 1967–1971 | Shashi Kanta Verma 1971–1973 | Dhatri Saran Mathur 1973–1974 | Kunwar Bahadur Asthana 1974–1977 | D. M. Chandrashekhar 1977–1978 | Satish Chandra 1978–1983 | Mahesh Narain Shukla 1983–1985 | Hriday Nath Seth 1986 | Kalmanje Jagannatha Shetty 1986–1987 | Dwarka Nath Jha 1987 | Amitav Banerji 1987–1988 | Brahma Nath Katju 1988–1989 | B. P. Jeevan Reddy 1990–1991 | M. K. Mukherjee 1991–1993 | S. S. Sodhi 1994–1995 | A. Lakshman Rao 1995–1996 | D. P. Mohapatra 1996–1998 | N. K. Mitra 1999–2000 | Shyamal Kumar Sen 2000-2002 | Tarun Chatterjee 2003–2004 | Ajoy Nath Ray 2005-2007 | Hemant Laxman Gokhale 2007-2009 | Chandramauli Kumar Prasad 2009–2010 | Ferdino Rebello 2010–2011 | Syed Rafat Alam 2011–2012 | Shiva Kirti Singh 2012–2013 | Dhananjaya Y. Chandrachud 2013–2016 | Dilip Babasaheb Bhosale 2016-till date

Reporting and Citation
Private journals that report Allahabad High Court Judgements include 1. Allahabad Criminal Cases, 2. Allahabad Law Journal 3. Allahabad Daily Judgements 4. Allahabad Civil Journal 5. Allahabad Weekly Cases 6. Allahabad Rent Cases 7. Revenue Decisions 8. U.P. Local Bodies and Education Cases 9. Lucknow Civil Decisions (LCD) 10. Judicial Interpretation on Crimes (JIC)

High Court Service
The Office staff at High Court of Judicature at Allahabad is broadly divided into four Cadres:
1. General office Cadre
2. BS Cadre
3. PS Cadre
4. Computer Cadre.

General Office cadre is the nodal cadre for handling all the administrative and judicial work in the hon’ble court and ensuring judicial work is carried out in a streamlined and time-bound manner.

BS (Bench Secretary) and PS (Private Secretary) cadres are specialised cadres and are attached to hon’ble judges to assist them in judicial proceedings and other miscellaneous work.

Organizational Structure
It consists of the officers and officials of Registry with the following hierarchy.
The apex two posts Registrar General and Senior Registrar are reserved for HJS(Higher Judicial Service) officer of the rank District Judge.
Designation / Grade Pay/ Group
11) Registrar General / A
10) Senior Registrar / A

General Office Cadre

Gazetted Officers
9) Registrar / 8900(Level 13A) / A
8)Joint Registrar / 8700(Level 13) / A
7)Deputy Registrar / 7600(Level 12) / A
6)Assistant Registrar / 6600(Level 11) / A
5) Section Officer / 5400(Level 10) / B
4) Review Officer / 4800(Level 8) / B

Non-Gazetted Officials
3) Asst. Review Officer /4600(Level 7)
2) Routine grade Clerk
1) Peon/Bundle Lifter

BS Cadre
It consists of Bench Secretaries of different grades. These post are filled through departmental examination.

PS Cadre
It consists of personal secretaries of various grades and personal assistants.

Computer Cadre
It consists of officers and officials in following hierarchy:
– System Manager
– Senior System Analyst
– System Analyst
– Programmer Gr. 1
– Programmer Gr. 2
– Computer Operator A,B & C

Registrar General is the head of all the Officers and Officials working in the High Court.

View More at